Ogun CJ inaugurates committee on decongestion of correctional centres

The Chief Judge of Ogun State, Justice Mosunmola Dipeolu, on Monday inaugurated a five-member Sub-Committee on Decongestion of Correctional Service Centres across the state.

Dipeolu inaugurated the committee at the Judiciary Complex in Abeokuta.

She said that part of the duties of the committee would include, collation of relevant data on inmates and compilation of data on the offences for which the detainees were being held.

Dipeolu also mentioned implementation and enforcement of laws that related to trial or post-convictions in terms of bail, probation and community services, amongst others.

The chief judge said that several efforts had been put in place to decongest the state correctional centres in the past.

She noted that part of the moves to tackle congestion of the centres when she became the Chief Judge of the state was the seven-point agenda which centred on the quick and effective dispensation of justice,

She added that the congestion was hinged on several factors which included the workload of High and Magistrate Courts, dearth of manpower, the inability of the correctional service centres to constantly convey inmates to various courts, alongside several other inundating factors.

Dipeolu noted that recently, the challenges had been resolved through the creation of new High and Magistrate Courts at different judicial divisions and magisterial districts.

She noted that the appointment of new judges and magistrates, creation of specialised courts such as the Small Claims Court, amongst others, were made to handle all custody matters and to tackle logistic issues in the centres.

Dipeolu pointed out that the advent of the Administration of Criminal Justice and Other Related Matters Law (ACJL), 2017, had also played a significant role in a bid to decongest the correctional facilities across the State.

She added that jail delivery exercises had also been held quarterly in spite of the COVID-19 pandemic, urging the committee members to work assiduously to achieve the laid-down objectives.

Speaking on behalf of the newly inaugurated members, the Chairman of the Committee, Justice Catherine Ogunsanya, said the assignment was an opportunity to serve the state and promised to deliver accordingly.

Ogunsanya, however, pledged that the committee would be committed to work effectively toward  decongestion of the correctional service centres in the state.

Others members include the Secretary, Mr Tosin Okikiolu, Miss Oluwatoyin Sonoiki, CSP Charles Akinrosoye and DCC James Ogunmoyede.

The members of the committee were drawn from the Judiciary, Ministry of Justice, Police affairs and the Nigerian Correctional Service Centres.

Related Articles