APC: Saraki, Lai Mohammed Factions Hold Parallel Congress In Kwara

Factions belonging to the Senate President, Dr Bukola Saraki and

Minister of Information and Culture, Alhaji Lai Mohammed held two

parallel state congresses of the All Progressives Congress (APC) took

place in Ilorin on Saturday.


While the faction loyal to the Senate President, Dr Bukola Saraki,

held its congress at the Banquet Hall opposite the Government House,

another congress by a faction loyal to the  Minister of  Information

and Culture, Alhaji  Lai Mohammed,  took place at Arca Santa Event



Gov.  Abdulfatah Ahmed, APC National Publicity Secretary, Bolaji

Abdullahi, Sen Shaaba Lafiaji and lawmakers representing the state at

the National Assembly and state House of Assembly were present at the

congress held at the Banquet Hall.


Saraki, while speaking at the congress commended members of the party

for the peaceful conduct of the ward and local government congresses.


He said most of the executive members at the wards and local

government level were youths, adding that this was a sign of good

things to come in 2019.


“In 2019, it will be a test for the youths to demonstrate their

ability to take charge in the state,” he said.


Saraki, however, appealed to the delegates to comport themselves in an

orderly and peaceful manner.


The party’s Chairman, Alhaji Ishola Balogun-Fulani, commended members

for their conduct during the last two congresses of the party.


The congress held at Arca Santa Hall had Moshood Mustapha, a former

Special Assistant to the Senate President on Special Duties and

Inter-Parliamentary Affairs in attendance.


Alhaji Raheem Adedoyin, a former Commissioner for Information under

the Saraki administration, was also in attendance.


Also present was a former Secretary to the State Government under the

Saraki administration, Alhaji Ganiyu Cook-Olododo.

In Saraki faction, Alhaji Ishola Balogun Fulani was returned as State

Chairman, Hon. Christopher Tunji Ayeni, Secretary;  Alhaji Buhari

Sulaiman, Publicity Secretary and Hajiya Rahmat Oganija, Women Leader.



However, executive members of the two factions  emerged through

consensus arrangement.


While delegates  at the Banquet Hall still cast their votes in spite

of the  fact that the candidates had  no opponents, those at the Arca

Santa Hall  only affirmed the return of candidates.


Alhaji Moshood Bolarinwa emerged the state chairman of the faction

loyal to the  minister while Mallam Abdullahi Samari was affirmed the

deputy chairman.


Others were Alhaji Abdulganiyu Saka,  Secretary;  Abegunde Goge,

Assistant Secretary; Rahmat Abolaji Women leader; and Samuel Isaac,

Youth Leader.


Also included were  Mr Olayemi Olabanji,  Kwara South Senatorial

Chairman;  Sulyman Yahaya ,  Kwara Central Senatorial Chairman;  and

Raheem Usman,  Kwara North Senatorial Chairman.


Kayode Oyin-Zubair emerged Publicity Secretary of the faction while

Abiola Nasir was affirmed  Financial Secretary, with Wahila Sakariyah

becoming the Organising Secretary.