9 Institutions Get N50m NCC Grant For Telecoms Research

The Nigerian Communications Commission (NCC) has given a  N50m

grant to nine researchers in  Nigerian institutions  to carry out

research in the telecommunications sector.


Executive Vice Chairman of NCC, Prof.  Umar Danbatta, while presenting

the award letters in Abuja, said the grant  would go a long way in

transforming the  country’s  telecoms  sector.


Danbatta said the grant was in recognition of the role of the academia

in the development of the telecoms sector.


“Under this project, tertiary institutions submit detailed and well

thought out research proposal to the commission on innovative use of

telecommunications to solve national problems.


“These prototypes which can be so varied include the development of a

commercially viable prototype of their research, ‘’ he said.


He said 56 proposals from the academia were received  in 2016  by the

commission, with only three selected  for grant  by the Inter-Agency

Committee  comprising of the academia and industry members.


Danbatta said 96 proposals were  received in 2017 ,  with six

successful after stringent evaluation.

He warned the researchers against showcasing the research work or its

prototype to any organisation  or at any exhibition until  NCC

receives it.


“We have set out clear terms and conditions for the grant. We expect

you to abide by the terms of the award.


“In addition, we wish to provide a word of caution; you are not under

any‎ circumstance to showcase the work or the prototype to any bodies

or organisations or at any exhibition until the commission has

received the final prototype and signed  off on it,” he added.


In his remarks, Prof Muhammad Muazu,  the Chairman of the Inter-Agency

Committee  said the process that produced the nine researchers given

grant  was thorough and transparent.


NCC gave the breakdown of the  N50 million  grant  and the

institutions awarded  as  Covenant University Ota, (N9,321,400),

Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University, Bauchi( N5,916,00) and  Enugu State

University of Science and Technology (N1, 381,000) .


Also included were Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile Ife

(N3,545,266.00),  University of Port Harcourt (N5, 265, 000.00),

Nigeria Air Force Institute of Technology,  Kaduna (N5,000,000.00) and

Elizade University, Ilara-Mokin  (N5,000,000.00.), Ahmadu Bello

University(ABU),  Zaria,  got N12,332,000 and  N6,995,180.00.


Speaking on behalf of the awardees,  Prof. Sani Suleiman of ABU,

Zaria,  thanked the commission for the confidence reposed in them,

urging it  to ensure that the laudable initiative was  extended to

telecoms operators.