You are here
Politics Slider 

INEC Declares Bauchi Polls Inconclusive, Gov Masari Wins, PDP Rejects Result

There is no winner yet in the keenly contested governorship election in Bauchi state, between incumbent Mohammed Abubakar and the PDP challenger, Bala Mohammed, a former minister.

With all the results from the councils tallied, Governor Abubakar polled 465,453 votes, while Bala Mohammed got 469512, a margin of 4059 votes.

But the returning officer, Professor Mohammed Kyari from Federal University of Technology, Yola, Adamawa declared the election inconclusive.

He explained the reasons for the action.

“First, that the margin of lead between the PDP and APC Candidates is 4, 059 votes. Secondly, the number of cancelled votes even without that of Tafawa Balewa Local Government Area which he had earlier cancelled was 45, 312.

“Thirdly, the total number of registered voters in the affected areas are 139, 240.”

“Therefore, based on Section 26 Part 53 of the Electoral Act, I hereby declare this result inconclusive.”

He, therefore, directed the Independent National Electoral Commission in the state to immediately conduct a re-run in the affected areas within 21 days.

The results of 19 out of 20 LGAs were announced by the various Collation Officers, with Tafawa Balewa cancelled.

Meanwhile, INEC has declared Gov. Aminu Masari as winner of Saturday’s governorship election in Katsina State. But the opposition Peoples Democratic Party swiftly rejected the result and said it would seek remedy in the court.

The PDP state Chairman, Alhaji Salisu Majigiri, alleged that the results declared by the INEC did not tally with the low turnout of voters and the results in custody of their agents.

The Returning Officer for the governorship election, Prof Abdullahi Abdu Zuru, Vice Chancellor, Usmanu Danfodio University, Sokoto, said Masari polled 1,178,864 votes to defeat PDP’s Sen. Yakubu Lado, who scored 488,621 votes.

The state has a total of 3.2 million registered voters.

According to Zuru, the number of accredited voters was 1,173,780, while the votes cast were 1,720,638, with 37,593 votes rejected.

“The APC candidate, Aminu Masari, having satisfied the requirements of the law and scored highest number of votes is hereby declared winner and returned elected,” Zuru declared.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that Masari defeated the Yakubu Lado and 16 other candidates in all the 34 Local Government Areas of the state.

Related posts


All-In-One Solution Pack: Hosting, Domain Registration, Web Design / Dev and Content Management. Contact : 09054605145