You are here
Politics Slider 

Aftermath Of Defections, Kwara APC Gets New Exco

A new Executive of the All Progressives Congress (APC) has been inaugurated after the defection of the erstwhile leadership to the PDP

Last week however, delegates of both the remaining members of APC and the PDP defectors gathered in Abuja‎ to elect authentic officers of the party where Hon. Bashir Bolarinwa elected Chairman through consensus was sworn in. 

Before then, in a seeming dramatic turn other members of Balogun Fulani Executive resigned from their positions and announce their defections to PDP.

Bolarinwa at the occassion charged both the state officers and the Local Government Officers to work for the overall success of the party  in the 2019 general elections.

Bolarinwa urged APC members across the state not to despair or be intimidated, but work as a team to achieve their set goal and objectives.

He said; “at this juncture, let me remind you that, this assignment committed into your hands as executives of the party at various levels is essentially a call to serve and therefore, we must give it takes.

“We must not give room for despair or be allowed to be intimidated. Our strength lies in our unity and commitment to the development of our state through the progressive platform-the All Progressives Congress (APC)/

“I must equally commend our members for the zeal they demonstrated in driving our activities since we started,” he added.


According to the chairman, the assignment could not be achieved individually, adding that members of his executive must work like the ants in colony.


Bolarinwa appealed to members of the executive to remain focused and committed to the goal of providing a new and purposeful leadership for the people of Kwara State.


In his remarks, Chief Iyiola Oyedepo, former chairmen of PDP in the state congratulated the new executive members in the state.


He called on party members not to rest on their oars, but should forge ahead to mobilise the people to vote for APC in 2019 general elections in the state.


“I want to tell all of us here today that the assignment before all of us is enormous. We want to capture power in this state next year and I want to say that no stone must be left unturned.


“So I urge you to go and do what is necessary for us to capture power next year,” Oyedepo said. 

 Thirty six members of the executive were sworn-in by a lawyer, Salmon Jawando who is also a member of APC.

Related posts