Media Slider 

NGE: Egbemode Re-Elected President, Akiadewo, Anaba, Others Join Exco

The Managing Director/Editor-in-Chief of New Telegraph Newspapers, Mrs

Funke Egbemode, has been re-elected President of the Nigerian Guild of

Editors (NGE).

Egbemode won the position unopposed at the guild`s 2019 Biennial

Convention on Saturday at Ikeja, Lagos.

The convention with theme: “Media Convergence as Strategy for

Survival,’’ had hundreds of editors in attendance.

Other people returned unopposed at the event are Mr Umaru Tudunwada,

Deputy President, Mr Mustapha Isa, Vice-President West and Mrs Mary

Atolagbe as the General Secretary.

Mrs Victoria Ibanga clinched the position of Treasurer, while Mr Ken

Ugbechie is Social/Publicity Secretary, Mr Austeen Elewodalu was

also returned unopposed as Assistant General Secretary.

Five positions were later contested for with Hajia Sani emerging

Vice-President (North), while Mr Samuel Egbala emerged Vice-President


Mr Steve Nwosu and Mr Eze Anaba and Gabriel Akinadewo emerged as Standing Committee members for the (West).

Similarly, Mr Ngwoke Ngwoke and Mr Freston Akpor emerged Standing

Committee members (East) while Catherine Agbo and Husseina Ibrahim

emerged Standing Committee members (North).

The election committee was presided over by veteran journalist Mr Ray

Ekpu, who supervised the hitch-free exercise and announced the


Earlier, there were complaints by some disqualified aspirants, who

were not cleared to contest, based on the provisions of the guild’s


The disqualified candidates called for a review of the electoral laws

provided in the constitution.

But Ekpu apologised to the disqualified members, saying that the

electoral provisions in the constitution would be looked into before

future elections.

He described the NGE as an association of equals.

In her acceptance speech, Egbemode thanked the guild members for

trusting her to serve a second term.

“Everybody agreed that I, Funke Egbemode should serve a second term.

While accepting to serve, I want to thank you for your trust.

“I will never forget or betray this trust.

“Although I have ideas,  I promise that the next two years will be

about what you want and what needs to be done and the integrity of the

guild will be protected,’’ she said.

Egbemode was confirmed substantive president of the NGE at the 12th

All Nigeria Editors’ Conference in 2016 in Port Harcourt, Rivers.

She emerged acting president of the NGE at the second quarterly

meeting of the association’s standing committee meeting, held in

Abuja, following the vacancy created by the exit of then President of

the guild, Alhaji Garbadeen Muhammad.

Muhammad was appointed Group General Manager, Group Public Affairs

Division of the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation.

Egbemode was elected president of the guild in 2017.

Related posts


All-In-One Solution Pack: Hosting, Domain Registration, Web Design / Dev and Content Management. Contact : 09054605145